Back to top

Provincial and Municipal Road Standards

Publish Date: 
January 2019

Nepal has transitioned to a new system of Federal governance encompassing three levels of authority: Central (Federal), Provincial, and Local Government. Under this new organisation Nepal comprises 7 Provinces encompassing a total of 77 Districts. Within these districts are a total of 753 local units, consisting of 6 metropolitan cities (more than 300,000 people), 11 sub-metropolitan cities (more than 150,000 people), 276 municipalities (nagarpalikas) and 460 rural municipalities (gaunpalikas). Each local unit is further divided into wards (5-33 wards per local unit) with a total of 6,743 wards in Nepal.